Itr filed? Here is a step by step guide to check income tax refund status


The Income Tax Department (IT) allows taxpayers to claim any tax overrun by filing an income tax return, the deadline for which will expire on December 31, 2021, for the fiscal year 2020-2021.

Income taxpayers can check the tax refund status online through the Income Tax E-Filing website – or through the e-governance website of National Securities Depository Limited (NSDL) –

Here are the steps to check the ITR status from the Income Tax website:

Step 1:

Open www. and log into your account by entering the user ID (PAN) and password.

2nd step: Log in and click on the ‘e-file’ option.

Step 3: Select “Income Tax Returns”, then click “View Filed Returns”.

Step 4: Now check the last filed RTI.

Step 5: Select the option “Show details” and it will show the status of the RTI you have filed.

In order to verify tax status on, users must enter their Permanent Account Number (PAN) and select the appropriate tax year. The status will be reflected. The status of “refund paid” is also reflected in the “tax credit statements” of Form 26AS.

Depending on the option exercised by the appraised when filing the annual RTI, reimbursement is made either electronically, that is to say by direct credit to an account, or by reimbursement check. Taxpayers are therefore required to enter the correct account number and IFSC code as well as full contact details including PIN code when filing the return.

If the ITR status indicates that the refund has expired, it means that the refund was not presented for payment within the 90 day validity period. The taxpayer, in this case, can make a request for reissue of reimbursement.

In case the return has been filed electronically, the refund reissue request can be made online by logging into the electronic filing portal with the user ID and password.

If the status says ‘returned’, the taxpayer may be required to provide correct bank details and issue a refund reissue on the e-filing portal / assessment agent.

(Edited by : Jomy Jos Pullokaran)

Source link


About Author

Leave A Reply